Site tools

Welfare Team

Senior Dean: Dr. William Whyte oversees welfare provision at St John’s, including liaising with medical and counselling services. He also is the first port of call for applications for financial assistance and liaises with JCR and MCR committees.

Junior Deans: Mimi Zou and Tom Hills provide welfare support to the junior members of college, and are always happy to listen if you need a sympathetic ear. Pop in during office hours (5.30-6pm M/W/F) or email if you need a chat. They also attend to lesser disciplinary matters, and oversee room bookings (once bookings have been made via Lynda Morgan's office).

Chaplain: Rev Dr Elizabeth MacFarlane cares for all college members and staff, of every faith and none. She is concerned with all aspects of well-being, not simply spiritual matters, and can be consulted in confidence.

Tutor for Women: Professor Alison Hills' role is primarily concerned with issues relating to female students but she is happy to meet with male students as well.

Fellow for Equality: Dr Carolyne Larrington is responsible for ensuring that the College policy on equality of opportunity, without regard for gender, ethnic background, sexual orientation, disability, or age, etc., is followed.

The Academic Administrator: Mrs. Eileen Marston heads the College Office Staff and is responsible for the day-to-day academic administration of the College. She is also the College’s Disability Co-ordinator.

Finance Bursar: Ms Sally Layburn is responsible for administering grants and collecting battels.

The JCR also appoints a Disabilities Action Representative as part of the JCR Welfare Team. To find out more, please see the  Welfare Team page on the JCR website.

Contact details

St John's College
St. Giles, Oxford OX1 3JP
Work Tel: 01865 277300
Fax: 01865 277435
University of Oxford