ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A Stated General Meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 2nd December 2020 at 2.00 p.m. remotely via Microsoft Teams.

Present:

The President, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Professor S. J. Whittaker, Professor A. Grafen, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F. A. Armstrong, Professor S. Elston, Professor C. Whistler, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Professor P. Maini, Professor C. A. Larrington, The Revd. Prof. W. Whyte, Professor D. Martin, Professor A. Hills, Professor R. M. Harding, Professor H. Bouman, Professor N. P. Harberd, Professor A. Starinets, Professor J. Schnell, Professor T. Burt de Perera, Ms. S. Layburn, Professor M. Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor P. R. Hayes, Professor J. Obloj, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor J. Stanyek, Professor J. Bray, Professor K. Southwood, Professor Z. Olszewska, Professor L. Pratt, Professor C. Beem, Professor L. di Mare, Professor G. Rose, Professor S. Kiefer, Professor N. Sugimura, Mr R. Crow, Professor S. White, Professor E. Greensmith, Professor E. Wonnacott, Dr. M. Nicholls

Apologies: Professor R. G. Compton, Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. Russell,

Professor C. Newton, Professor G. Gottlob, Professor R. Ekins, Professor Sir. R. Collins, Professor B. McFarlane, Professor S. Toussaert, Professor N. Jones

In attendance: Mrs E. Marston, Ms. D. Cripps

ACTION

AGENDA 'B'

1. Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 11th November 2020 were **approved**.

2. President's update

The President reported on the first meeting of the Fellows' Housing Working Group and the Finance Bursar briefed Governing body on her background paper (available on the intranet).

3. Election to Principal Bursar and Fellowship of Governing Body

Ms. Zoe Hancock was elected as Principal Bursar and to a Supernumerary Fellowship with membership of Governing Body (coterminous with holding the post of Principal Bursar), from a date to be confirmed.

PRESIDENT

4. Research Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th November 2020 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** a Medium-size Grant [] for Professor Molnár for a project called 'The Role of Layer 6B in Local and Global Brain State Control'.

The research budget for 2020/21 was agreed.

It was also **agreed** to roll-over unspent 2019/20 Research and Teaching expenses (and, with discretion, those for 2020/21) until the start of the 2021/22 academic year, subject to approval from Finance Committee.

FELLOW FOR RESEARCH

5. Finance Committee

The minutes of the additional meeting held on 24th November 2020 were received.

The Finance Bursar presented the College's Annual Report and Accounts with a series of graphs summarising the College's financial activities. The Governing Body thanked the Finance Bursar and her team for preparing such an excellent overview of the College's finances.

The Strategic Projects Officer updated the Governing Body on the College's investment in Oxford North and outlined the decisions that would be required for the next stages of the development.

6. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 25th November 2020 were received.

The Governing Body noted that the Committee had considered an interim report on the size and shape exercise and that a final report would be discussed next term.

It **agreed**, subject to the outcome of the request for legal advice, to offer Professor Armstrong a fixed-term appointment to a six-hour Stipendiary Lectureship for Trinity Term 2021, with a starting date after his retirement from his substantive post.

A buy-out of six hours of Professor Hayes' College teaching for Hilary and Trinity Terms 2022 was **agreed**.

It was **agreed** that the Junior Research Fellowships of Dr. Padget, Dr. Sprengel, Dr. Derbyshire and Dr. Cooper should be renewed for a fourth and final period of one year from 1st October 2021.

Sabbatical leave was **agreed** for Professor Weidberg (Michaelmas Term 2021–Trinity Term 2022), Professor Kiefer (Michaelmas Term 2021–Hilary Term 2022), and Professor Elston (Hilary Term 2022).

Governing Body also noted that the research of a number of College Officers had been impacted due to the increase of their duties as a result of the pandemic. The President noted that Remuneration Committee would consider this at its next meeting.

7. <u>Lamb and Flag Oxford Ltd</u>

The minutes of the Directors' meeting held on 23rd November 2020 were received.

8. Hilary Term Calendar

The draft Calendar was **agreed**. The President noted that a newly created Domestic and Establishment Committee would meet later in the term (in 6th Week) with more informal liaison with Junior Members around domestic issues throughout the term and before the committee meeting.

9. Any other business

The Governing Body congratulated Professor Sir Rory Collins on his election to serve a second term on University Council.

The President reported that Sir Nigel Carrington had agreed to be Chair-Elect of Remuneration Committee. Another member of the committee, Ms. Sarah Deaves, was also reaching the end of her term of office and suggestions for a replacement member would be welcome.

GOVERNING BODY

BELOW THE LINE ITEMS – TO NOTE

10. Development and Alumni Relations Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 10th November 2020 were received.

11. Academic Services Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th November 2020 were received.

12. Health and Safety Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th November 2020 were received.

13. Official guests to dinners, 2021

The list of official guests to dinners in 2021 was received.