ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

ACTION

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 23rd June 2015 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

- Present: The President, Professor J. C. G. Pitcher, Professor K. P. Tod, Professor I. J. Sobey, Professor S. J. Whittaker, Professor A. Grafen, Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F. A. Armstrong, Professor S. Elston, Dr. C. Whistler, Professor K. Nation, Professor W. Mattli, Professor J. Ouaknine, Dr. C. A. Larrington, The Revd. Professor W. Whyte, Professor R.M. Harding, Professor A. Wright, Professor A. Starinets, Professor J. Schnell, Professor C. Jeffrey, Ms. S. Layburn, Professor M-S. Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor P. R. Hayes, Dr. K. Doornik, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor J. Bray, Professor K. Southwood, Professor J. J. Pandit
- Apologies: Professor L. Tarassenko, Professor L. M. McDowell, Professor P. K. Maini, Professor T. Burt de Perera, Professor C. Newton, Professor G. Gottlob, Professor R. Ekins, Professor J. Obloj

In attendance: Ms. D. Cripps

AGENDA 'B'

1. Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 27th May 2015 were **approved**.

2. <u>Academic Dean</u>

The Senior Tutor reported that Dr. E. Clewlow had been appointed as Academic Dean.

The Governing Body **elected** Dr. Clewlow to a Supernumerary Fellowship (without membership of Governing Body), coterminous with her holding the post of Academic Dean, from 1st September 2015.

PRESIDENT and SENIOR TUTOR

3. Thematic Research Grants

The President briefed Governing Body about the particulars for the new Thematic Research Programme including the role of an external committee to judge proposals. The President informed Governing Body that she intended, if possible, to arrange for an Honorary Fellow to chair this committee. The President noted the deadline for outline proposals (the end of 9th Week in Michaelmas Term 2015) and encouraged Fellows to apply.

The Governing Body **agreed** the detailed information and application form.

4. Chapel and Patronage Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 3^{rd} June 2015 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** a removal grant [] for Revd. Dr. Sally Welch, newly appointed at Charlbury.

It was also **agreed** that Professor Tarassenko should become Honorary Vice President of the Friends of St Mary's Church Polstead.

5. Education Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 10^{th} June 2015 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** that the College should continue its association with Associate Professorships in Applied Mathematics (*vice* Professor Tod) and in Engineering Science (*vice* Professor Sobey) and should join the Departments in seeking to refill the posts for the 2016/17 academic year.

It was also **agreed** that Professor Nation should be granted one term of reduced teaching in Michaelmas Term 2015 (under section 4 of the College's relevant By-Law) and that she be permitted to apply for one further period of eight terms at a later date.

The following sabbatical leave was **agreed**:

- a) Professor S. Whittaker, Trinity Term 2016;
- b) Dr. C. Larrington, Michaelmas Term 2016–Trinity Term 2017.

SENIOR TUTOR

6. General Purposes Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 17th June 2015 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** that Joint Council should be abolished.

The Governing Body **agreed** that the President should invite Sir David Cannadine, Professor Andrew Harrison, Professor Ann Jefferson and Ms. Barbara Slater to accept Honorary Fellowships.

PRESIDENT

Election procedures for Honorary Fellowships were also **agreed**. General Purposes Committee would look again at some of the specific details in Michaelmas Term 2015.

The Governing Body further **agreed** that:

- i. the Fellowship of Professor S. Elston should be renewed from 1st October 2015 for a period of seven years or until his retirement, whichever was sooner;
- ii. the Fellowship of Professor H. Skoda should be renewed from 1st October 2015 for a period of seven years or until her retirement, whichever was sooner;
- iii. the Fellowship of Professor N. Lübecker should be renewed from 1st October 2015 for a period of seven years or until her retirement, whichever was sooner;
- iv. Dr. K. Doornik should continue as Supernumerary Fellow in Economics (without membership of Governing Body) from 1st October 2016.

PRESIDENT

The Governing Body **agreed** that the Information Security Policy should be reaffirmed for another year.

IT FELLOW and PRINCIPAL BURSAR

The lists of College Officers and Committee members for 2015/16 were also agreed.

PRESIDENT

Governing Body, Agenda B: 23rd June 2015

The Principal Bursar briefed the Governing Body on a letter to be sent to all Tutorial Fellows. It was **agreed** that the letter should be sent to all Tutorial Fellows as a reminder of the College's expectations about their duties to the College.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR

7. Northern Gateway - Area Action Plan

[]

8. Visiting Researcher Grant

The Governing Body **agreed** a Visiting Researcher Grant to cover College accommodation and travel costs during Michaelmas Term 2015 for Dr. Gregg McClymont.

9. Working Group on Access and Outreach

The Governing Body received the report of the Working Group on Access and Outreach.

10. Working Group on Access and Outreach

The Governing Body **agreed** that there should be a telephone campaign in November 2015 aimed at both major US donors and US alumni and at legacy prospects with the campaign being staffed by graduate callers.

FOUNDER'S FELLOW

11. Library Consultative Group

The minutes of the meeting held on 11th June 2015 were received.

12. <u>Conference of Colleges</u>

The unconfirmed minutes of the meeting of Conference on 28th May 2015 were received.