## ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

### MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 21<sup>st</sup> June 2016 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

- Present: The President, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Professor I. J. Sobey, Professor A. Grafen, Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor S. Elston, Professor L. Tarassenko, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Professor P. Maini, Dr. C. A. Larrington, Professor H. Bouman, Professor N. P. Harberd, Professor S. Myers, Professor A. Wright, Ms. S. Layburn, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor P. R. Hayes, Dr. K. Doornik, Professor C. Newton, Professor R. Ekins, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor J. Bray, Professor K. Southwood, Professor Z. Olszewska
- Apologies: Professor J. C. G. Pitcher, Dr. C Whistler, Professor P. P. Craig, Professor L.
  M. McDowell, Professor A. Starinets, Professor J. Schnell, Professor M-S.
  Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor J. Obloj, Professor J. Stanyek, Professor J.
  J. Pandit, Dr. I. Klinke, Professor Sir R. Collins
- In attendance: Dr. E. Clewlow (Academic Dean), Ms. A. Bielby (Director of Development and Alumni Relations), Ms. D. Cripps

## ACTION

#### AGENDA 'B'

#### 1. <u>Minutes and matters arising</u>

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 25<sup>th</sup> May 2016 were **approved**.

In matters arising the Acting Principal Bursar updated Governing Body on [] EJRA appeal. It was **agreed** that the President, Vice-President, Senior Tutor, Principal Bursar and Acting Principal Bursar were authorised to act over the Long Vacation on a majority basis.

### ACTING PRINCIPAL BURSAR

### 2. <u>Chapel and Patronage Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 1<sup>st</sup> June 2016 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** a contribution [] towards the cost of a *Church Times* advertisement for the appointment of a Team Vicar for Cheam.

It was **agreed** that Choral Scholarships should be awarded to Sofia Kirwan-Baez, Isabella Carrington, Emilie Finch, Jennifer Moulds and William Underwood.

It was also **agreed** that a grant [] should be awarded from the Hanborough Trust to Revd David Pickering, Vicar of Fyfield in support of his part-time DPhil with the possibility that further grants for this sum might be made for the remaining five years of study.

#### FINANCE BURSAR

#### 3. Academic Services Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 1<sup>st</sup> June 2016 were received.

4. <u>Research Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 1<sup>st</sup> June 2016 were received.

In the absence of the Fellow for Research the President reported that the full proposal for the Thematic Grant had been received and reviewed using the previously agreed procedure.

The Governing Body **agreed** to award [] to Professor Z. Molnár as Principal Investigator for a two-year project, 'Mapping cortex evolution through mathematical modelling' with a mid-term review in Trinity Term 2017.

The following grants were also **agreed**:

- a) [] to Professor Whittaker for a workshop, 'The Code Napoleon rewritten: French contract law after the reforms of 2016', in September 2016;
- b) [] to Dr. Barrett for a conference, 'Framing Chris Wickham: Birmingham and Oxford 1976–2016';
- c) [] to Professor Nation;
- d) [] to Professor Mattli for a conference, 'The Political economy of capital market governance', in March 2017.

## **FELLOW FOR RESEARCH**

### 5. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 8<sup>th</sup> June 2016 were received.

The Senior Tutor reported that Dr T. Liang had now been accepted in association with the College from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2016 for up to three years in connection with her Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship in the History of Art Department.

The Governing Body **agreed** the Philosophy Faculty's request to buy out four hours of Professor Hills' College teaching for up to four years from Michaelmas Term 2016.

It was **agreed** that Dr Woolley's Junior Research Fellowship would be transferred to a nonstipendiary appointment from 1<sup>st</sup> July 2016 to enable him to accept a postdoctoral position in the Mathematical Institute. Governing Body congratulated him on his appointment.

The Ioan and Rosemary James Scholarships were also agreed as follows:

- a) one three-year (or four-year in the case of a CDT student) fully funded scholarship for a non-Home/EU doctoral student (though this would not be specified in the terms in the first year) in the Mathematical Institute for each of the six years' duration of the donation;
- b) one three-year (or four-year in the case of a CDT student) partially funded scholarship for a non-Home/EU doctoral student (though this would not be specified in the terms in the first year) in the Mathematical Institute for each of the six years' duration of the donation;
- c) one 50/50 scholarship, offered in partnership with the University, to be open to all subjects other than Mathematics, for each of the six years' duration of the donation;
- d) any remaining funds would be used to back-fill existing graduate scholarships in partnership with the University.

The Academic Dean noted that College would explore the feasibility of opening up one of more of these latter awards to PGT as well as PGR students.

The following sabbatical leave was **agreed**:

- e) Professor M. S. Omri, Michaelmas Term 2016;
- f) Professor P. Maini, Hilary Term 2017;
- g) Professor J. Curtis, Michaelmas Term 2016–Trinity Term 2017;
- h) Professor D. Martin, Hilary Term 2017.

# 6. General Purposes Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 15<sup>th</sup> June 2016 were received.

The Governing Body **elected** Professor I. J. Sobey to an Emeritus Fellowship from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2016.

It was **agreed** that the Emeritus Research Fellowship of Professor M. Vale should be renewed from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2016 for a third and final period of three years.

It was **agreed** that the Fellowship of Professor A. J. Russell should be renewed from  $1^{st}$  October 2016 for a period of seven years or until retirement, whichever was sooner.

The *Ethical Screening of Donations and Gift Acceptance Policy* was **agreed**. The Committee would review the policy in Trinity Term 2017.

It was also **agreed** to adopt the University's *Donor Charter* and a link would be placed on the College's website.

The list of College Officers and Committee members for 2016/17 were agreed.

## PRESIDENT

## 7. <u>Remuneration Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 16<sup>th</sup> June 2016 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** that the stipend of the Finance Bursar should be increased [] and would be reviewed again in twelve months' time.

The stipends for the newly created officership of Domestic & Establishment Bursar and for the Music & Visual Arts Officer were **agreed** [].

The housing allowance was also **agreed** for Official Fellows [] and for Supernumerary Teaching Fellows and Junior Research Fellows [].

# ACTING PRINCIPAL BURSAR

## 8. Fellows Housing Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 13<sup>th</sup> June 2016 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** a process for the sale of part-purchase properties.

Additional expenditure [] was **agreed** for work [].

# ACTING PRINCIPAL BURSAR

### 9. Annual Garden Report

The Annual Garden Report was received. The Governing Body thanked the Keeper of the Groves and the Head Gardener for their work in the gardens.

### 10. <u>Conference of Colleges</u>

The unconfirmed minutes of the meeting of the Conference of Colleges on  $26^{th}$  May 2016 were received.

### 11. Any other business

The President reported on a letter to the Chair of the Conference of Colleges from the Charities Commission. The letter noted examples of good practice on conflicts of interest and trustee remuneration and made some suggestions.