## ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

### MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 6<sup>th</sup> March 2024 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

- Present: The President, Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, The Revd Professor W. Whyte, Professor A. Hills, Professor R. M. Harding, Professor H. Bouman, Professor S. Myers, Professor A. Wright, Professor J. Schnell, Professor M-S. Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor P. R. Hayes, Professor A. Russell, Professor C. Newton, Professor R. Ekins, Professor J. Obloj, Professor J. Stanyek, Professor K. Southwood, Professor Z. Olszewska, Professor C. Beem, Professor L. di Mare, Professor G. Rose, Professor S. Kiefer, Professor N. Sugimura, Mr R. Crow, Professor S. White, Professor E. Greensmith, Professor B. McFarlane, Dr M. Nicholls, Professor N. K. Jones, Ms. Z. Hancock, Dr S. Campbell, Dr K. Doornik, Professor R. Hoye, Professor T. Qutbuddin
- Apologies: Professor S. J. Elston, Professor P. K. Maini, Professor D. Martin, Professor A. Starinets, Professor T. Burt de Perera, Dr G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor J. J. Pandit, Professor I. Klinke, Professor L. Pratt, Professor S. Toussaert, Professor R. Slater, Professor E. Wonnacott, Professor B. Stevenson, Professor L. Hunt, Professor R. Lall, Professor K. J. Patel, Professor A. Lak, Dr. C. He (ECR Representative), Dr L. Flannigan (ECR Representative)

In attendance: Ms. D. Cripps

# AGENDA 'B'

## 1. Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 14<sup>th</sup> February 2024 were **approved** with one amendment.

2. Election to Official Fellowship in English

Dr Gareth Evans was elected as Official Fellow and Tutor in English, with membership of Governing Body, with effect from 1<sup>st</sup> September 2024, coterminous with his appointment as Associate Professor in Old Norse in the Faculty of English.

#### PRESIDENT

## 3. Election to Honorary Fellowships

The Governing Body elected Ms Nadia Motraghi KC, Ms Caroline Plumb OBE and Professor Brenda Stevenson to Honorary Fellowships.

## PRESIDENT

## 4. Development and Alumni Relations Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 13<sup>th</sup> February 2024 were received.

#### 5. Academic Services Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 21<sup>st</sup> February 2024 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** the College Regulations relating to the Use of Information Technology Facilities and the Information Security Policy. The Cookies Policy and Social Media Policy were also **agreed** with no amendments.

## ACTION

## PRINCIPAL BURSAR

## 6. Domestic and Establishment Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 21st February 2024 were received.

The Principal Bursar noted that the proposed interest-free visa loan scheme was in line with the University scheme. The Governing Body **agreed** the scheme.

The CCTV Policy, Flag Protocol, Room Booking and Events Policy, Smoking Policy and Student Events with Alcohol Policy were all **agreed**.

The Principal Bursar highlighted the good progress made by the College on reducing its carbon footprint over the last four years. She reported that the plan had now been updated with targets for 2024. The Governing Boy **agreed** the 2024 Environmental Sustainability Plan.

# PRINCIPAL BURSAR

### 7. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 24<sup>th</sup> February 2024 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** the Conflicts of Interest arising in Undergraduate Admissions Policy.

It was **agreed** to appoint a two-hour Stipendiary Lecturer in Archaeology in association with an APNTF in the Department of Archaeology, subject to agreement of the arrangements between the College and the Department.

## **SENIOR TUTOR**

It was **agreed** to appoint a 1.0FTE College Lecturer in Mathematics for one year from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2024.

## SENIOR TUTOR

Sabbatical leave for Professor Schnell was agreed (Michaelmas Term 2024–Hilary Term 2025).

The Governing Body also **agreed** to elect Ella Jackson to a Casberd Scholarship.

8. <u>Research Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 28<sup>th</sup> February 2024 were received.

The Governing Body agreed the Research Ethics for College-only Staff Policy.

A Visiting Researcher Grant [] to Professor Abderrahime Sekkat, Laboratoire de Génie Chemique, Toulouse to work with Professor Hoye was **agreed** from 15<sup>th</sup> June to 31<sup>st</sup> July 2024.

The Fellow for Research reported that Visiting Scholarships for the Long Vacation 2024 had been offered to six applicants.

9. <u>Trinity Term Calendar</u>

The Governing Body **approved** the Trinity Term Calendar.