ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A Stated General meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 3rd October 2012 at 10.30 a.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present: The President, Dr. J.C.G. Pitcher, Professor K. P. Tod, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor S.J. Whittaker, Dr. P. K. Dresch, Professor A. Grafen, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F.A. Armstrong, Professor R. Bush, Professor L. Tarassenko, Professor P.P. Craig, Dr. M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Professor W. Mattli, Professor L.M. McDowell, Professor P. Maini, Dr. C. A. Larrington, The Revd. Dr. W. Whyte, Dr. A. Hills, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. H. Bouman, Professor N. P. Harberd, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. T. Burt de Perera, Dr. J.G.C. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn, Dr. M-S. Omri, Dr. N. Lübecker, Dr. P. Hayes, Dr. K. Doornik, Professor C. Newton, Professor G. Gottlob, Dr. R. Ekins, Dr. J. Obloj, Dr. G. Kantor, Dr. B. Murnane, Dr. J. Stanyek, Professor J. Bray.

Apologies Professor J. Ouaknine.

AGENDA 'B'

ACTION

1. President

The Vice-President welcomed Professor Maggie Snowling to Governing Body.

2. Admission of Fellows to Governing Body

The following newly elected Fellows were admitted to Governing Body:
Dr. Richard Ekins, Tutorial Fellow in Law;
Dr. Jan Obloj, Tutorial Fellow in Mathematics;
Dr. Georgy Kantor, Tutorial Fellow in Ancient History;
Dr. B. Murnane, Official Fellow and Tutor in German;
Dr. Jason Stanyek, Tutorial Fellow in Music;
Professor Julia Bray, Laudian Professorial Fellow in Arabic.
3. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 6th July were accepted (after correcting the list of apologies).

4. <u>Research Fellowships in the Humanities and Social Sciences</u>

Dr Charia Cappellaro and Dr Jure Vidmar were elected to fixed-term non-stipendiary Research Fellowships without membership of Governing Body. The Senior Tutor confirmed that the duration of these posts would match that of the associated external funding with the possibility of a single extension if the external funding is extended, as set out in the previously agreed rules for these Fellowships.

Educational Policy Committee will consider how to widen the field of eligible candidates and whether to replace one of these Fellowships with a Junior Research Fellowship in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

5. <u>Research Fellowships in the Sciences and Mathematics</u>

Professor Simon Hay and Dr Mark Stokes were elected to fixed-term non-stipendiary Research Fellowships without membership of Governing Body.

It was noted that only one woman had applied. The issue of how to encourage more female applicants will be discussed at Educational Policy Committee. It was also noted that the criteria for eligibility should be reviewed by Educational Policy Committee given that the tenure of some science awards (e.g., Wellcome Trust postdoctoral and clinical Fellowships) were now 4 (not 5) years.

SENIOR TUTOR

6. <u>Elections and Renewals of Scholarships</u>

The list of scholarships was approved (with corrections).

7. Choral and Organ Scholarships

[] were elected to Choral Scholarships from 7th October 2012.

It was noted that there was one prospective candidate for the Organ scholarship in 2013, subject to their meeting criteria for admission.

8. <u>Michaelmas Term Calendar</u>

The draft calendar was approved, subject to amendments.

9. Blackhall Road Renovations

The Oxford Preservation Trust has written to commend the college on the renovation of the houses in Blackhall Road. The Principal Bursar will thank [] and the staff of the Estates Office on behalf of Governing Body for their work on this project.

10. Any Other Business

- The Principal Bursar confirmed that the President has agreed to act as a trustee of the Staff Pension Scheme.
- The Senior Tutor reported that a panel chaired by the Vice-President would meet to consider undergraduate academic appeals.