ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 7th March 2012 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor M. R. Freedland, Professor K. P. Tod, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor S.J. Whittaker, Dr. P. K. Dresch, Professor A. Grafen, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Dr. C. Whistler, Professor L. Tarassenko, Professor P.P. Craig, Professor G. J. H. van Gelder, Dr. M. Cannon, Professor W. Mattli, Professor J. Ouaknine, Professor L.M. McDowell, Dr. C. A. Larrington, The Revd. Dr. W. Whyte, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. T. Burt de Perera, Professor C. Jeffrey, Dr. J.G.C. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn, Dr. M-S. Omri, Dr. N. Lübecker, Dr. P. Hayes, Dr. K. Doornik, Mr. M. Klaput (MCR President), Mr. U. Ukachi (JCR President), Mr. P. Coales (JCR Vice-President), Mr. Richard Lau (MCR President-Elect).

Apologies Professor R.G. Compton, Professor F.A. Armstrong, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor K. Nation, Professor P. Maini, Dr. H. Bouman, Professor N. P. Harberd, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. A. Russell, Professor C. Newton, Professor G. Gottlob.

ACTION

AGENDA 'A'

1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on 15th February 2012 were approved.

2. Joint Council

The minutes of the meetings held on 9th February and 23rd February were accepted.

Governing Body noted the suggestion put forward during a discussion at Joint Council that tutors should not set deadlines before 12 noon for written work to be handed in. It was felt that this was a matter for negotiation between tutors and their tutees.

3. Library Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 22nd February were accepted.

4. Web Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 22nd February were accepted.

5. Committee for the Promotion of Music and the Visual Arts

The minutes of the meeting held on 29th February were accepted.

6. Equality Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 29th February were accepted.

7. MCR President

The President thanked Mr. Klaput on behalf of the Governing Body for his work as MCR President over the preceding year. Mr Klaput returned his thanks to members of Governing Body for their cooperation of the on issues relevant to the MCR and introduced the MCR President-Elect, Mr. Richard Lau.