ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Friday 15th July 2011 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Mr. N. Purcell, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor S.J.Whittaker, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor F.A. Armstrong, Dr. C. Whistler, Professor K. Nation, Dr. J. Ouaknine, Professor L.M. McDowell, Professor P. Maini, Dr. C. A. Larrington, The Revd. Dr. W. Whyte, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. C. Jeffrey, Dr. J. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn. Dr. H. Skoda, Dr. N.

Lübecker.

Apologies: Professor R.G. Compton, Professor A. J. Parker, The Revd. Dr. E. D. H. Carmichael, Professor G. J. H. van Gelder, Professor W. Mattli, Dr. H. Bouman, Dr. M. Stokes, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. T. Burt de Perera.

ACTION

AGENDA 'B'

1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 28th June 2011 were approved, subject to the following amendments.

- a) The apologies of Dr. H. Skoda being recorded.
- b) Item 12. General Purposes Committee: the following should be added-: "Governing Body agreed that Dr. J.C. Pitcher's Fellowship be renewed from October 2011 for a period of seven years or until the retirement age, whichever is earlier."
- c) Item 5. Graduate Scholarships c) The minutes were redrafted so that reference was made only to students awarded Graduate **Scholarships**
- d) Item 7 b) delete.[]

2. Election to Emeritus Fellowship

Mr Nicholas Purcell was elected to an Emeritus Fellowship from 1 October 2011.

PRESIDENT

Retirement of Official Fellow

It was agreed that Professor Fleet would retire as an Official Fellow from 30th September 2011. It was agreed that he be elected to an Emeritus Research Fellowship, to commence immediately on his retirement.

4. Election to a non-stipendiary Research Fellowship in association with a British Academy or Leverhulme award

It was agreed that Ms Katherine Butler be offered a fixed-term non-stipendiary Research Fellowship without membership of Governing Body, for three years from 1st October 2011, the Fellowship to be co-terminus with the three year British Academy Post-doctoral award she will hold from October 2011.

5. Supernumerary Fellowship: Professor P. Tufano

It was agreed that Professor Tufano be offered a Supernumerary Fellowship, without membership of Governing Body, for the five year period of his appointment as a Professor and Dean of the Said Business School.

6. Emoluments Committee

The minutes of the meeting 1st July 2011 were accepted.

7. Chapel Lector

The President reported that following discussion between himself, the Bursar, the retiring Chaplain and the incoming Chaplain, it was agreed that, as the present Chapel Lector's employment was coming to the end of its term, the incoming Chaplain would consider next term what, if any, help she required in the Chapel.

8. <u>Conference of Colleges</u>

The unconfirmed minutes of 30th June 2011 were received and discussed.

In relation to the Teaching Fund, the President reported a generous gift to the College by Professor Donald Russell. He will write to Professor Russell to thank him on behalf of the Governing Body, for his gift towards the Ancient World Fund.

9. Any other business

The Governing Body congratulated Dr. Starinets on being awarded the Maxwell Prize and Dr Ait-Touati for being awarded the Malcolm Bowie prize for French Literature.

It was agreed to permit the digitisation of works by William Ramsay deposited by the College in the Ashmolean in 1952.

Governing Body expressed their best wishes to Mr. Purcell for his tenure of the Camden Chair.