ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A <u>Stated General</u> meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Tuesday 28th June 2011 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor M. R. Freedland, Mr. N. Purcell, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor A. Grafen, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F.A. Armstrong, The Revd. Dr. E. D. H. Carmichael, Professor S. Elston, Professor L. Tarassenko, Professor G. J. H. van Gelder, Dr. M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Professor W. Mattli, Professor L.M. McDowell, Dr. A. Hills, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. H. Bouman, Dr. M. Stokes, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. T. Burt de Perera, Dr. C. Jeffrey, Dr. J. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn, Mr. M. Klaput (MCR President), Ms. S. Friedmannova (MCR Secretary), Mr. D. Messling (JCR President), Ms. N. Weinberg (JCR Vice-President), Ms. H. Brooks (JCR Secretary).

Apologies: Professor S.J. Whittaker, Dr. C. Whistler, Professor P.P. Craig, Professor P. Maini, Professor N. P. Harberd, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. M-S. Omri, Dr. N. Lübecker.

ACTION

AGENDA 'A'

1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 1st June 2011 were approved, subject to the apologies of Professor Van Gelder being recorded.

2. Rents and Charges 2011/12

The Principal Bursar summarised the proposals of the Committee for Rents and Charges for the forthcoming year 2011/2012. During discussion it was enquired as to the level of hardship funds that would be available. The Bursar responded that this would, as usual, be funded elastically on the basis of demonstrated need as a result of unforeseen hardship. The Governing Body accepted the increases in Rents and Charges proposed for 2011/12. On behalf of the Governing Body, the President thanked the Principal and Finance Bursars and the MCR and JCR Presidents and their colleagues for the successful conclusion of their discussions over recent weeks.

3. Equality Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 8th June2011 were accepted.

4. Library Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 8th June2011 were accepted.

5. Joint Council Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 9th June2011 were accepted.

6. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 15th June 2011 were accepted.

7. <u>Decanal Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 15th June 2011 were accepted.

8. <u>Ball Steering Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 17th June 2011 were accepted.