ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 1st June 2011 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present: The President, Professor M. R. Freedland, Mr. N. Purcell, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor A. Grafen, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F.A. Armstrong, The Revd. Dr. E. D. H. Carmichael, Professor S. Elston, Professor Z. Molnár, Dr. M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Professor W. Mattli, Dr. J. Ouaknine, Professor L.M. McDowell, Professor P. Maini, Dr. C. A. Larrington, , Dr. D. Martin, Dr. A. Hills, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. H. Bouman, Dr. M. Stokes, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. T. Burt de Perera, Dr. C. Jeffrey, Dr. J. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn, Dr. M-S. Omri, Dr. H. Skoda, Dr. N. Lübecker, Mr. M. Klaput (MCR President), Ms. S. Friedmannova (MCR Secretary), Mr. D. Messling (JCR President), Ms. N. Weinberg (JCR Vice-President), Ms. H. Brooks (JCR Secretary).

Apologies: Professor S.J. Whittaker.

AGENDA 'A'

ACTION

1. <u>Minutes</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 9th March 2011were approved and signed.

2. Joint Council Committee

The minutes of the meetings held on 24th February and 12th May were accepted.

- It was agreed that the Informal Hall Trial would run into difficulties over staffing if the meal started at 6.00pm.
- 3. Music and Visual Arts Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th May 2011 were accepted.

A pilot scheme of two art classes a week during Hilary Term, each class lasting two hours was agreed for Hilary Term 2012.

4. <u>Domestic Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th May 2011 were accepted.

The President drew the Committee's attention to the terms of the Fairtrade Policy.

5. Garden Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th May 2011 were accepted.

It was agreed that one new lawnmower be purchased at a cost not to exceed []

6. <u>Ball Steering Committee</u>

The minutes of the meeting held on 27th May 2011 were accepted.