ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 1st June 2011 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor M. R. Freedland, Mr. N. Purcell, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Dr. I. J. Sobey, Professor A. Grafen, Dr. A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F.A. Armstrong, The Revd. Dr. E. D. H. Carmichael, Professor S. Elston, Professor Z. Molnár, Dr. M. Cannon, Professor K. Nation, Professor W. Mattli, Dr. J. Ouaknine, Professor L.M. McDowell, Professor P. Maini, Dr. C. A. Larrington, , Dr. D. Martin, Dr. A. Hills, Dr. R.M. Harding, Dr. H. Bouman, Dr. M. Stokes, Dr. A. Wright, Dr. A. Starinets, Dr. J. Schnell, Dr. T. Burt de Perera, Dr. C. Jeffrey, Dr. J. Snicker, Ms. S. Layburn, Dr. M-S. Omri, Dr. H. Skoda, Dr. N. Lübecker.

Apologies: Professor S.J.Whittaker.

ACTION

AGENDA 'B'

1. Minutes

The minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 27th April 2011 were approved.

2. Fellowship in Economics

The Governing Body received the report of the Selection Committee for this post and, agreed that Dr. Kate Doornik be appointed to a Supernumerary Fellowship, as Fellow and Tutor in Economics with membership of Governing Body, for five years from 1st October 2011.

PRESIDENT

3. <u>Spanish American Literature Lecturership in association with a Fellowship at St Catherine's College</u>

The Governing Body received the report of the Selection Committee for this post and agreed that Dr. Ben Bollig be offered the post []

SENIOR TUTOR

4 Research Associates in the Deep Mathematical Theory of Selfish Genes

The Governing Body received the report of the Research Centre Committee which had interviewed candidates for two posts of Research Associates to work on the project 'Deep Mathematical Theory of Selfish Genes'. It was agreed that Mr Paul Crewe and Mr Richard Gratwick be appointed.

DIRECTOR OF THE RESEARCH CENTRE

5. <u>Visiting Scholarships 2011</u>

The Governing Body received the report of the Selection Committee for Visiting Scholarships 2011 and noted that the panel had selected the following: Professor Alison Adam, Dr. Colin

Adams, Professor Tim Bale, Dr. Christopher Burlinson, Professor Brian Campbell, Dr. Mary Fairclough, and Dr. Anna Schaffner.

SENIOR TUTOR

6. Research Centre Management Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 4th May 2011 were accepted.

Governing Body agreed the following recommendations: that

- a) a grant, not to exceed £3,000, should be made to support the workshop on Science and Literary Criticism.
- b) a grant, not to exceed £41,000, should be awarded to cover the costs of a one-year Research Centre Associate (Dr. Holly Joseph), some equipment (eye tracker and PC) participant vouchers and a small amount of funding to meet conference and other travel expenses.
- c) Professor Gosetti-Ferencei be appointed Visiting Research Associate for a period of nine months from October 2011.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR AND DIRECTOR OF THE RESEARCH CENTRE

7. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 11th May 2011 were accepted.

Governing Body agreed the following recommendations: that

a) Dr. Sivia be elected to a continuing Stipendiary Lecturership, to teach Mathematics for Chemistry and Physics students for 6 hours per week during term.

SENIOR TUTOR

b) the College bid for a Teaching Fund post in Ancient History.

SENIOR TUTOR

c) the College appoint a two-year Teaching Assistant in Classical Archaeology to teach up to three hours per week, with similar rights and privileges to those of a Non-Stipendiary Lecturer.

SENIOR TUTOR

- d) i) the College bid for a titular CUF in Law from October 2012;
 - ii) the College apply for a Teaching Fund post in Law.

SENIOR TUTOR

e) []

SENIOR TUTOR

f) Ms. Claudia Kaiser be offered a College association as a Language Specialist in German to teach up to three hours per week, with dining rights.

SENIOR TUTOR

g) The Junior Research Fellowships of the following be renewed for a further and final period of one year, from 1st October 2011: Dr. R. Bonfatti, Dr. E. Bathrellou, Dr. Z. Olszewska, Dr. K. Horton, Dr. P. Fowler and Dr. J. Filling.

PRESIDENT

h) the College bid for an association with the Chair in Genomics and Global Health.

8. Alumni Relations Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 11th May 2011 were accepted.

9. Domestic Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th May 2011 were accepted.

10. General Purposes Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th May 2011 were accepted.

Governing Body agreed the following recommendations: that

a) Official Fellowships be renewed from October 2011 for:

Professor C.J. K. Batty for a period of seven years Professor R. G. Compton for a period of seven years

Dr. I. J. Sobey for a period of seven years or until his retirement date

whichever is sooner

Professor S. J. Whittaker for a period of seven years Dr. R.M. Harding for a period of seven years

PRESIDENT

b) a Supernumerary Fellowship be renewed from October 2011 for

Dr. D. Martin for a period of seven years

PRESIDENT

c) the number of periods of tenure for Emeritus Research Fellowships should be limited to three periods of three years each.

SENIOR TUTOR

d) Dr. M. Mango's Emeritus Research Fellowship be renewed for a further period of three years.

PRESIDENT

11. Archives Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 25^{th} May 2011 were accepted.

12. Estates Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 25^{th} May 2011 were accepted.

The Principal Bursar described the current situation regarding development of the Peartree site. It was agreed that a map/details of the proposed development would be circulated to Governing Body. [] It was agree that planning consent be sought for the refurbishment of 7-11 St John Street, including the necessary expenditure on fees to take matters forward to that stage.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR

It was agreed that £7,000 exclusive of VAT should be made available to enable the purchase of a new log splitter.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR

13. Finance Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 25th May 2011 were accepted.

The following recommendations were approved: that

(i) wherever possible, the College should avoid the specific disclosure of employee salaries by name.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR AND FINANCE BURSAR

(ii) the Finance Committee be authorised to approve the Accounts of the College for the year ended 31st July 2011. Governing Body also authorises the Finance Committee to approve such transfers between endowment and the Income and Expenditure account and between endowment and reserves as the Finance Committee considers appropriate for the good management of the College.

FINANCE BURSAR

(iii) expenditure [] should be made available to enable a progressive replacement of obsolete CCTV cameras and associated equipment.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR AND ESTATES MANAGER

14. Graduate Scholarships

The Tutor for Graduates reported that Scholarships have been offered as follows: Sean Ledger (D.Phil Mathematics) to be offered a 450th Anniversary Fund Scholarship. Mimi Zou (D.Phil Law) to be offered a 450th Anniversary Fund Scholarship. Michael Hart (D.Phil English) be offered the Andrew Fraser Scholarship

Meeting closed at 3.34pm