#### ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

### **MINUTES**

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 19<sup>th</sup> February 2025 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor S. Elston, Professor K. Nation, Professor P. Maini, Revd. Canon Professor W. Whyte, Professor R. M. Harding, Professor A. Wright, Professor M. Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor P. R. Hayes, Professor J. Stanyek, Professor K. Southwood, Professor J. J. Pandit, Professor Z. Olszewska, Professor C. Beem, Professor L. di Mare, Professor G. Rose, Professor S. Kiefer, Professor N. Sugimura, Professor S. Toussaert, Professor R. Slater, Mr. R. Crow, Professor S. White, Professor E. Greensmith, Dr. M. Nicholls, Professor E. Wonnacott, Ms. Z. Hancock, Dr S. Campbell, Dr. K. Doornik, Professor L. Hunt, Professor R. Lall, Professor K. J. Patel, Professor T. Qutbuddin, Professor A. Lak, Professor I. Williams, Professor G. Evans, Professor L. Moody, Professor S. Knott, Dr. J. Richards (ECR Representative), Dr. S. Hardy (ECR Representative)

Apologies:

Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor D. Martin, Professor A. Hills, Professor H. Bouman, Professor S. Myers, Professor A. Starinets, Professor J. Schnell, Professor T. Burt de Perera, Professor A. Russell, Professor C. Newton, Professor R. Ekins, Professor J. Obloj, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor I. Klinke, Professor L. Pratt, Professor B. McFarlane, Professor N. Jones, Professor R. Hoye, Professor C. Munday, Mr J. Dunn (JCR Vice-President)

In attendance: Ms. D. Cripps

**ACTION** 

### AGENDA 'B'

## 1. Minutes of Governing Body and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 22<sup>nd</sup> January 2025 were **approved**.

## 2. Career Development Research Fellows

The Governing Body **elected** Dr. Jascha Achterberg, Dr. Conor Brennan, Ms. Eleanor Eldridge, Mr Noah Kravitz, Dr. Giulia Morale, Mr Ashkan Sepahvand, Mr Joshua Smailes and Dr. Jakub Skrzeczkowski to Career Development Research Fellowships (without membership of Governing Body) for four years from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2025.

**SENIOR TUTOR** 

## 3. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 29th January 2025 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** to create a permanent twelve-hour College Lectureship in French Language, with effect from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2025, to replace two posts that would become vacant at the end of the 2024/25 academic year.

It was also **agreed** to appoint a full-time College Lecturer in Early Modern French with effect from 1<sup>st</sup> October 2025.

**SENIOR TUTOR** 

Sabbatical leave was **agreed** for Professor Ekins (Michaelmas Term 2025–Trinity Term 2026), Professor Elston (Hilary Term 2026), and Professor Southwood (Michaelmas Term 2026–Hilary Term 2027).

# 4. Research Committee

The minutes of the meeting held by email circulation on 18<sup>th</sup> February 2025 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** a Visiting Researcher Grant for Professor Jones to invite Professor Lukas Skiba (University of Bergen) from 6<sup>th</sup> November to 8<sup>th</sup> December 2025 with temporary SCR membership, College accommodation, and dining privileges in accordance with the scheme [].

#### FELLOW FOR RESEARCH

# 5. Any other business

The Governing Body discussed the processes for notifying the Welfare Team about any student welfare concerns and **agreed** that the Fellow for Welfare would review the Procedure for Welfare Cases in light of the points raised. It was also noted that more frequent training of staff would be helpful, especially for those who joined during the academic year.

## PRINCIPAL BURSAR, FELLOW FOR WELFARE

It was suggested that the membership of Welfare Committee would benefit from the inclusion of some current tutors. Any policy related to welfare matters would continue to be considered by General Purposes Committee.

**PRESIDENT** 

### **BELOW THE LINE ITEMS – TO NOTE**

## 6. Promotion of the Arts Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 5th February 2025 were received.

## 7. Chapel and Patronage Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 12<sup>th</sup> February 2025 were received.