ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 12th March 2025 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor S. Elston, Professor K. Nation, Professor P. Maini, Revd. Canon Professor W. Whyte, Professor R. M. Harding, Professor H. Bouman, Professor A. Starinets, Professor T. Burt de Perera, Professor M. Omri, Professor P. R. Hayes, Professor A. Russell, Professor C. Newton, Professor R. Ekins, Professor J. Obloj, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor J. Stanyek, Professor Z. Olszewska, Professor C. Beem, Professor L. di Mare, Professor G. Rose, Professor S. Kiefer, Professor N. Sugimura, Professor R. Slater, Mr. R. Crow, Professor S. White, Professor E. Greensmith, Dr. M. Nicholls, Professor B. McFarlane, Professor E. Wonnacott, Ms. Z. Hancock, Dr S. Campbell, Dr. K. Doornik, Professor R. Hoye, Professor L. Hunt, Professor T. Qutbuddin, Professor I. Williams, Professor G. Evans, Professor L. Moody, Professor C. Munday, Dr. J. Richards (ECR Representative)

Apologies:

Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor D. Martin, Professor A. Hills, Professor S. Myers, Professor A. Wright, Professor J. Schnell, Professor H. Skoda, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor K. Southwood, Professor J. J. Pandit, Professor I. Klinke, Professor L. Pratt, Professor S. Toussaert, Professor N. Jones, Professor R. Lall, Professor K. J. Patel, Professor A. Lak, Professor S. Knott, Dr. S. Hardy (ECR Representative)

In attendance: Ms. D. Cripps

ACTION

AGENDA 'B'

1. Minutes of Governing Body and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 19th February 2025 were approved.

Academic Services Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 26th February 2025 were received.

3. Domestic and Establishment Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 26th February 2025 were received.

The Principal Bursar reported that a 37-week licence had been discussed at both Domestic and Establishment and Educational Policy Committees, and also with Junior Members. The Governing Body raised a number of issues for consideration. There would be further consultation of the proposal with academic members of staff across the College and with General Purposes Committee.

The Governing Body **agreed** the Paternity/Partner Leave Policy.

The revised Code of Conduct, Flag Flying Protocol and Student Events with Alcohol Policy were also agreed.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR

The proposed expenditure on projects and priorities in the gardens was also **agreed**.

KEEPER OF THE GROVES

4. College Associations Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 26th February 2025 were received.

The Governing Body **elected** Professor Rohini Pande to an Associate Fellowship, coterminous with her holding the post of Sanjaya Lall Visiting Professor of Business and Development in the Social Sciences Division.

It was also **agreed** that future holders of the Visiting Professorship should be Associate Fellows.

PRESIDENT

5. Research Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 5th March 2025 were received.

The Governing Body agreed the following grants:

- a Medium Grant [] to Dr Hardy for research on state-of-the-art single cell RNA sequencing technology to expand the investigation of blood vessel remodelling underpinning human heart disease;
- a Welcome Grant [] to Professor Qutbuddin for work on a Practical Guide to Classical Arabic Poetry: Tools for Understanding Form and Meaning, Art and Function;
- a Visiting Researcher Grant [] to Dr Richards to invite Professor Brimblecombe, National Sun Yat-sen University, from 23rd June to 19th July 2025;
- a Visiting Researcher Grant [] to Professor Maini to invite Professor Layton, University of Waterloo, in Hilary Term 2026.

FELLOW FOR RESEARCH

6. Trinity Term 2025 Calendar

The draft calendar was received and approved.

BELOW THE LINE ITEMS – TO NOTE

7. Development and Alumni Relations Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 18th February 2025 were received.

8. Promotion of the Arts Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 24th February 2025 were received.