ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 8th March 2017 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor M. Davies, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Professor R. G. Compton, Professor S. J. Whittaker, Professor A. Grafen, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F. A. Armstrong, Dr. C Whistler, Professor L. Tarassenko, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor W. Mattli, The Revd. Prof. W. Whyte, Professor A. Hills, Professor R. M. Harding, Professor H. Bouman, Professor N. P. Harberd, Professor A. Wright, Professor J. Schnell, Ms. S. Layburn, Professor M-S. Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor P. R. Hayes, Professor C. Newton, Professor R. Ekins, Professor J. Obloj, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor J. Stanyek, Professor Sir R. Collins, Dr. I. Klinke, Professor L. Pratt

Apologies:

Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor P. P. Craig, Professor K. Nation, Professor T. Burt de Perera, Professor J. Bray, Professor K. Southwood, Professor J. J. Pandit, Professor C. Beem

In attendance: Dr. K. Doornik (Fellow for Equality), Ms. A. Bielby (Director of Development and Alumni Relations), Ms. D. Cripps

ACTION

AGENDA 'B'

1. Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 15th February 2017 were **approved**. Professor Davies emphasised his earlier concerns about the presence of people camping on the street just outside the College.

2. Academic Services Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 22nd February 2017 were received.

The Governing Body approved a Library Domus Grant of £75,000 for 2017/18.

3. Research Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 22nd February 2017 were received.

Requests for grants were **agreed** as follows:

- a) a Small Grant to Professor Ekins [] for a conference on 'Ethics in the conflicts of modernity' in June 2017, on the understanding that the conference would be open to College members;
- b) a Visiting Researcher Grant to Professor Beem for Professor Tudor Dimofte, University of California, in Trinity Term 2018 [], to cover travel expenses, accommodation and dining rights in accordance with the scheme.

The Fellow for Research reminded Governing Body that the deadline for applications for Medium Size, Large and Meeting of Minds grants had been extended to Friday of 0th Week of Trinity Term.

4. Educational Policy Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 1st March 2017 were received.

The Senior Tutor briefed Governing Body on the opportunity to enter into partnership with the AHRC Doctoral Training Partnership in humanities subjects. He noted that at present the College contributed to 54 fully-funded graduate studentships, at a cost to the College of £653k per year, with most of this funding provided on a 50:50 basis with the University.

After discussion, the Governing Body **agreed** that the College should express interest in the AHRC Doctoral Training Partnership match-funding opportunity but should also flag concerns about the process for selection of students and the range of subjects to be included in the scheme.

The Senior Tutor noted the Committee's discussion of end-of-term Collections. A paper outlining possible alternatives would be discussed at the meeting of the Committee in 2nd Week of Trinity Term; Junior Members would be consulted.

It was **agreed** that the Junior Research Fellowship of Dr Uphoff should be renewed for a further and final period of one year from 1st October 2017.

It was also **agreed** to appoint a Stipendiary Lecturer in History to provide replacement teaching during 2017/18.

Sabbatical leave was **agreed** for Professor Batty in Trinity Term 2018.

SENIOR TUTOR

5. Promotion of the Arts Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 1st March 2017 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** to commission Rory Carnegie for the collective photographic portrait of Mathematics Fellows [].

KEEPER OF THE PICTURES

6 Fellows' Housing Committee

The minutes of the meeting held by email circulation on 2nd March 2017 were received.

The Governing Body **agreed** that two Tutorial Fellows [] be required, for the better performance of their duties, to live in a designated College property [], under the terms and conditions of the Hart-Synnot scheme. The refurbishment of one of the properties [] was also **agreed** in principle.

PRINCIPAL BURSAR

7. Junior Research Fellowship Elections

The Senior Tutor reported on the elections for Junior Research Fellowships. The large number of candidates for arts subjects was highlighted. The Senior Tutor noted that the ongoing size and shape discussions would consider how the discrepancy with science subjects might best be addressed and then reviewed in Educational Policy Committee.

Mr Harry Desmond, Miss Lydia Beresford, Ms. Georgi Gardiner and Dr Karoline Sekita were elected to Junior Research Fellowships (without membership of Governing Body) for three years from 1st October 2017.

SENIOR TUTOR

8. Supernumerary Teaching Fellowship in Politics

The Governing Body **agreed** to appoint Ms Zeynup Pamuk as Supernumerary Teaching Fellow in Politics from 1st October 2017.

SENIOR TUTOR

9. Trinity Term Calendar

The Governing Body **approved** the Trinity Term Calendar, noting that the Bagley Woods Progress would be at 2.00 p.m. on 8th May.

10. Any other business

The Principal Bursar reported on the comparative figures for improvement in endowments across colleges, noting the College's very good performance [].

He also noted that there would be a display of mock-ups of the external and internal library structures from Wednesday 15th March in C4 and in the south-east corner of the garden.

The Principal Bursar also raised a proposal from Professor Weidberg that the EU flag should be flown in College as a statement of support for EU students and staff on 25th March, the 60th anniversary of the EU. After discussion, the President invited Fellows to send her their views and she would decide on the best course of action.

PRESIDENT and GOVERNING BODY

BELOW THE LINE ITEMS – TO NOTE

11. Conference of Colleges

The unconfirmed minutes of the meeting of the Conference of Colleges on 16th February 2017 were received.