ST. JOHN'S COLLEGE

MINUTES

A meeting of **GOVERNING BODY** was held on Wednesday 13th February 2019 at 2.00 p.m. in the Senior Common Room.

Present:

The President, Professor C. J. K. Batty, Professor R. G. Compton, Professor S. J. Whittaker, Professor A. Grafen, Professor A. R. Weidberg, Professor A. J. Parker, Professor F. A. Armstrong, Professor S. Elston, Professor P. P. Craig, Professor Z. Molnár, Professor M. Cannon, Professor W. Mattli, Professor P. Maini, Professor C. A. Larrington, The Revd. Professor W. Whyte, Professor D. Martin, Professor A. Hills, Professor R. M. Harding, Professor H. Bouman, Professor N. P. Harberd, Ms. S. Layburn, Professor M. Omri, Professor H. Skoda, Professor N. Lübecker, Professor P. R. Hayes, Professor G. Gottlob, Professor J. Obloj, Dr. G. Kantor, Professor B. Murnane, Professor J. Bray, Professor K. Southwood, Professor C. Beem, Professor S. Kiefer, Professor N. Sugimura, Professor S. Toussaert, Professor A. Srinivasan, Dr. D. Singh (ECR Representative), Ms. G. Antell (MCR President), Mr B. Gardner (JCR

Secretary)

Professor C. Whistler, Professor C. Newton, Professor G. Rose Apologies:

In attendance: Dr. S. Campbell, Mr R. Crow, Ms. J. Roadknight, Dr. M. Nicholls, Ms. D.

Cripps

ACTION

AGENDA 'A'

Minutes and matters arising

The minutes of the meeting of Governing Body held on 28th November 2018 were **approved**. The President welcomed Dr. Singh and welcomed back Professor Gottlob.

Domestic Committee

The minutes of the meeting held on 23rd January 2019 were received.

The Home Bursar noted that a call had been made for members of the Ball Committee.

The Principal Bursar explained the reasons for the temporary but necessary decision to close the College Bar to non-academic staff. He noted that the issue had now been resolved and the ban lifted. Junior Members had offered feedback and staff had raised the issue with the Bursary Manager. In the future staff would be able to channel any concerns via the (soon to be recruited) HR Manager.

Promotion of the Arts

The minutes of the meeting held on 30th January 2019 were received.