St John's College Oxford
This health and welfare contact information is for current students

Medical care

Playing in the snowCollege Nurse
Vivienne Davies 
tel 01865 277369

  • Hours 8.30–10.30am, Monday to Friday in term time.
  • The Nurse’s office is North Quad 5, room 1.  
  • No appointment is necessary and consultations are strictly confidential. 
  • The Nurse can also visit students in their rooms if necessary.

College Doctor
Dr Debbie Waller
19 Beaumont Street
tel 01865 240501

The Oxford Emergency Medical Service (OXEMS) provides an out-of-hours service from 6pm to 8am. If you ring the Beaumont Street surgery during those hours, you will be given a number to ring.

The surgery also runs a very good travel clinic for those wishing advice for foreign travel.

Dental practice

Helena Kennedy Student Centre
Headington Hill Campus
Oxford Brookes University
Headington Road, Oxford OX3 0BP

Hours: Monday-Friday, 8.00 am–6.00 pm

tel 01865 689997
email Studental


The College Counsellor, Dr Denise Barulis, is available in College (Canterbury Quad C5-2) on Thursdays from weeks 0 to 9 inclusive, for confidential consultation. If you would like to see her, either to discuss issues concerning you or because you are anxious about someone else, please get in contact.

The University Counselling Service is designed specifically to meet the emotional and practical needs of students at Oxford. It is confidential and deals with the whole range of academic, social and personal anxieties. It is based at 3 Worcester Street, Oxford, OX1 2BX. Appointments can be made by calling in to the office, by telephone 01865 270300 or by email.

Both services are free and confidential.

Disability Support

St John’s College aims to provide a good degree of accessibility for everyone.  The main entrance is via the Porters’ Lodge on St Giles.  This entrance is not currently wheelchair accessible, but a bell push is available to summon assistance from the porters.  The Front Quad, Canterbury Quad, the Chapel and the Kendrew Quad have level thresholds, all making for easy access.

Further information about accessibility of facilities at St John’s can be found here.

Transgender Guidance

As a supportive and inclusive community, St John’s College is committed to the University’s Transgender Policy and Guidance. Please read our Transgender and Gender Identity guidelines for more information and sources of help.

The welfare team

Senior Dean
Professor Patrick Hayes oversees welfare provision at St John’s, including liaising with medical and counselling services. He is also the first port of call for applications for financial assistance and liaises with JCR and MCR committees. Information about the Hardship Grant and similar funds can be found on the Grants, prizes and scholarships page. 

Junior Deans
Junior Deans Razia Chowdhry, Diala Al Mazri, Bárbara Souza and Kyle Davison, provide welfare support to the junior members of College, and are always happy to listen if you need a sympathetic ear. Pop in during our office time (18:00 to 18:30 on Monday, Wednesday and Friday) or email. Junior Deans also attend to lesser disciplinary matters, and oversee room bookings once bookings have been made via the College catering office.

Wellfare Dean
Revd Dr Elizabeth Macfarlane is someone you can talk to about any kind of topic or problem. Her role is to support the whole community of St John’s, students and staff alike, as part of the welfare team. Both in this and in her other role as College chaplain she welcomes people of all faiths and none to talk about any matter of concern, in confidence.

Fellow for Equality
Professor Ian Klinke is responsible for ensuring the implementation of the College’s policy on equality of opportunity, without regard for gender, ethnic background, sexual orientation, disability or age. She is also the College's Disability Lead.

Fellow for Ethnic Minorities
Professor Philip Maini is concerned with matters relating to race equality and differences in cultural experience.

Fellow for Women
Professor Katherine Southwood is primarily concerned with issues relating to female students but she is happy to meet with male students as well.

Academic Administrator
Mrs Eileen Marston heads the College Office staff and is responsible for the day-to-day academic administration of the College. 

Finance Bursar
Ms Sally Layburn is responsible for administering grants and collecting battels.

JCR Welfare Team
The JCR appoints a Disabilities Officer and an Equality Officer as part of the JCR Welfare Team to represent students on College Committees. 

The College Harassment Advisors
These are Professor Katherine Southwood,Professor Philip Maini and Professor Ian Klinke.