The College warmly congratulates all members of St John’s who received awards in the New Year Honours List 2020.

Sir Keith Thomas
The distinguished historian Sir Keith Thomas FBA, FLSW, FRHistS, Honorary Fellow and former Tutor in History (1957–85), was appointed Companion of Honour, a special award granted to those who have made a major contribution to the arts, science, medicine, or government lasting over a long period of time. There are sixty-five members at any one time and these currently include Sir David Attenborough, Dame Judi Dench and Lord Patten.

Commenting on his appointment Sir Keith said:

‘I am greatly honoured by this award and particularly pleased that it is for the study of history, a subject in which St John's has long excelled.’

Our congratulations also go to:

  • Professor John Darwin FBA, Honorary Fellow, Senior Research Fellow at Nuffield College, CBE, for services to the Study of Global History;
  • Dr Andrew Dawson Taylor FRS FRSE FInstP, OBE (DPhil Chemistry, 1972), lately Executive Director of National Laboratories, Science and Technology Facilities Council, CBE, for services to Science and Technology.

If you are an Alumnus who has received an award and you have not been listed here, please let us know.