Professor Richard Ekins, Tutorial Fellow in Law, has been selected as one of the judges for next year's Orwell Prizes, the UK's most prestigious prizes for political writing.

Richard Ekins 2019Every year, The Orwell Foundation awards prizes for the work which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’.

Four prizes are currently awarded: The Orwell Prize for Political Writing, The Orwell Prize for Political Fiction, The Orwell Prize for Journalism, and The Orwell Prize for Exposing Britain’s Social Evils. Professor Ekins will be on the panel for the 2021 Political Writing Book Prize; find out more about all of the judges here.

The prizes for books and journalism were originally established by the late Professor Sir Bernard Crick in 1994, ‘to encourage writing in good English – while giving equal value to style and content, politics or public policy, whether political, economic, social or cultural – of a kind aimed at or accessible to the reading public, not to specialist or academic audiences’.

Judges are appointed each year, with a separate panel for each prize, and previous judges include Carmen Callil, Bonnie Greer, David Hare, Richard Hoggart, Lisa Jardine, Penelope Lively, Andrew O’Hagan, Tom Paulin, Esme Percy, Lynne Truss, Marina Warner and Samira Ahmed.