On Friday 30 October the President held a dinner to welcome two of our new Honorary Fellows to College

Professor Dorothy Bishop and Catherine Mallyon have both been elected as Honorary Fellows this year. 

_MG_2385.JPGCatherine Mallyon is an alumna of St John’s, and has been Executive Director, a Governor and a Board member of the Royal Shakespeare Company since 2012. She is a member of the National Council of Arts Council England, and on the Boards of the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), the Society of London Theatre (SOLT) and the West Midlands Combined Authority Cultural Leadership Board. She is on the Advisory Council of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust and of the Orchestra of the Swan, and chairs the Advisory Groups for the Bristol + Bath Creative Cluster and the Centre for Cultural Value, based at Leeds University.

Professor Dorothy Bishop is based at the Department of Experimental Psychology at the University of Oxford, where she heads an ERC-funded programme of research into cerebral lateralisation for language. She has honorary degrees from the University of Lund, the University of Western Australia, the University of Newcastle upon Tyne and the University of Liège. Her main research interests are in the nature and causes of developmental language difficulties, with a particular focus on psycholinguistics, neurobiology and genetics. In addition, she has been an advocate for higher standards of methods and transparency in research, and is a founder member of Reproducible Research Oxford. Her book Uncommon Understanding won the British Psychological Society’s annual award in 1999.

_MG_2399 resized.jpg